top of page
Rustic Kitchen

Here you can find out more about each of the top 14 allergens. These have been identified and their presence must be declared when they are in food items produced by businesses. 

There are many types of mustard, including the well -known English, French, and Dijon mustards. These are often used in salad dressing including mayonnaise and vinaigrette, also in cheese dishes and ham sandwiches.

mustard.jpg
MUSTARD
EGGS

Birds Eggs all contain the same proteins which have the potential to cause an allergic reaction.

Contrary to a common thought, eggs are NOT dairy products.

Eggs will be used in cakes, pastries, and sauces.

EGGS
Baking Ingredients
Fish on a Plate

Fresh water or saltwater, white or oily, all fish are included here. Some people who have a fish allergy have identified which fish causes them an allergic reaction, therefore, it is best practice to identify the actual fish within your ingredients information.

FISH
Sesame Loaf

Sesame seeds are often used on burger buns, in seeded bread, and other pastries. The seeds can be ground into a paste, known as Tahini, which is used in hummus. The oil is used widely in oriental cuisine for frying and in salad dressings.

SESAME

include wheat, rye, barley, and oats.

Gluten is found in bread, pastry, cakes, pasta, and sauces; however it is important to recognise that some Coeliacs will also need to avoid malt vinegar and malt extract,  this means being mindful of, pickles, chutney, mayonnaise, tartare sauce, and other condiments.

GLUTEN GRAINS
Stalks of Wheat

are also known as groundnuts or monkey nuts. These are often used in place of almonds in curry. It is important to check with the supplier about the possibility of cross contamination.

Peanut (groundnut) oil is often used for frying, particularly in oriental cuisine.

Shelled Peanuts
PEANUTS

These are seafood such as crab, lobster, prawn, crayfish and scampi. They are the shellfish with legs, and usually claws. Sometimes the shells are used to make fish sauce, so it is important to check for this.

Pan Seared Shrimp
CRUSTACEANS

are shell fish such as mussels, clams, oysters, and cockles, whelks and escargot (snails),  squid and octopus.

Many of these are used in oriental cuisine in sauces

Seafood Shrims and Clams
MOLLUSCS

Brazils, almonds, walnuts, pecans, cashews, macadamias, hazelnut, filberts, and pistachios are all varieties of tree nuts.

Nuts are used in cakes, curries, macarons, etc. their oils are also sometimes used in salad dressings, Asian cuisine and shallow frying.

Almonds
TREENUTS

A vegetable often used in salads, more frequently in sauces, stock cubes, bouillon paste, and bouquet garnis. Celeriac is the vegetable root, which is sometimes served pureed or roasted. Look also for celery salt, which may be used in bars when making a Bloody Mary cocktail.

vegetable-2486251_1920.png
CELERY

must be mentioned when a dish contains milk, butter, cream, yogurt, or cheese. Milk allergy is not the same as lactose intolerance. For many people, it is the lactose (milk sugar) that causes the problem, which is due to the absence of the enzyme lactase.

glass-925858_1920.jpg
MILK

is becoming increasingly used as a replacement for wheat flour in baked goods, such as bread, cakes, and pastries. It has become a substitute and is often used in specialist recipes for Coeliacs, because it is naturally gluten free.

Made from the seeds of the white lupin plant, this flour can be used widely in any dish that would usually contain wheat flour, including sauces.

LUPIN
agriculture-316595_1280.jpg

SO2 is naturally occurring in some, though not all wines. There is a set content above which there must be a notification for customers. This is currently 10mg per kg or 10ml per litre. SO2 is also used as a preservative and can be identified with E220-E228, which may be used in dried fruit, some sausages, burgers, and other foods.

dried-fruit-700015_1280.jpg
SULPHITES

is used in many forms. The whole beans are cooked and used in salads, and are known as Edamame. Well known in vegetarian dishes as Tofu and as a substitute for dairy milk. Also known as textured vegetable protein, soya is used as an alternative to meat. The dried beans can be ground into flour, and used in bread, cakes, pastries, and sauces. Soya oil may be used for frying.

soy-milk-2263942_1920.jpg
SOYA
bottom of page